That Listless Place

A great many changes have occurred over the last couple of years and it seems that they are catching up to me now. The momentum that carried me through several novels has faltered and I find myself scrambling to get words on the page.

This has, in fact, happened to me before and the only way I was able to drag myself out of it was to do something radical.

So.

I have decided to revisit the serial novel.

For those of you who have been around, you know that Persona – my WWII romance – was done as a serial novel for its first draft. I did this knowing that I would only be allowed to self-publish the novel once it was completed and I have never regretted it. The feedback I got from those who tuned in every week for a chapter was invaluable and the completed/polished novel is better for it.

Many professionals out there might shake their heads at me, because giving the work out for free limits where it can go in the future, and because writing a novel is such hard work that authors deserve to be paid for it.

But, I have always said that I write because I love to tell stories. Whether or not they get published isn’t always up to me. What is up to me, and what I constantly strive for, is the improvement of my craft.

With that in mind, I am happy to announce that The Castle of Three Kings will be available every Tuesday afternoon at Wattpad and a designated blog. I will post links every week, and once I’ve fully edited the manuscript it will be made available in its full form.

I had a lot of fun with this the last time I did a serial novel, and given the feedback I received in the middle of it all, I think a lot of readers did as well. So! Why not?

It’s a brave new world, after all.

(FYI – Chapter One is published and available for your reading pleasure!)

2 thoughts on “That Listless Place

  1. Wow, Aimee. Just read the first chapter of your new serial and I want more…..now. I’m not sure that I can read it a chapter at a time, but I’ll try. Maybe it’ll teach me patience. Can’t wait for the next chapter!

Leave a comment