Gearing up for NaNoWriMo

Woo!

National Novel Writing Month starts in just a few short weeks!

For those who are unaware of the awesomeness that is NaNoWriMo, take a quick visit to their website and see for yourself. The basics: you try to write 50,000 words in 30 days on a new novel/story.

I consistently lose but I love every minute of it anyway, and I greatly encourage any potential writers/aspiring authors/even my own kid to give it a go.

This year I am participating in a new way. Instead of a novel I will be writing my first ever non-fiction book (How To Change The World) and, while I think it will fall short of the 50,000 word mark, it will stretch out into 7 weeks instead of just 4 due to research and things.

Now then … I don’t think my brain can survive without fiction of some sort, so during this time I will also be editing/re-writing Usurper (particularly its ending) and I do hope to have that done within the 30-day NaNoWriMo time frame. If not, it will definitely be done before December 31st.

I do have to shake my fist at Bioware right now since the new Star Wars Knights of the Fallen Empire game will come out at the end of this month and I’m going to have to find a delicate balance between swooshing a virtual lightsaber around and buckling down to write.

I’m a nerd. Sue me.

Leave a Reply

