Happy Thanksgiving!

Yes, this is a day early. No, I don’t care. I’ll be out of town for several days so this is the only chance I’ll get posting my annual “This Is What I’m Thankful For” article before the holiday is over so … you get it today.

I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday! I hope you all eat whatever your family tradition prefers you eat and that you enjoy some time off with loved ones. And I hope everyone takes a deep breath and steps back to really appreciate the things that they have, which is what I’m doing today.

This year I am thankful for …

1) My son.

As always, he is the front of the list. He is funny and adventurous and full of spirit. I get to watch him create some of the most amusing stories with his Lego’s and his action figures and he reminds me every day to think outside of the box.

2) My cat. 

Because he’s a big orange beast who talks back to me when I’m asking questions about my work. He’s shaped a bit like a potato and has a crooked tail and sometimes jumps onto the back of my chair to attack my head if I’ve been at the computer too long.

3) My family.

‘Cause they’re awesome. All of them.

4) My hands.

All it takes is stabbing yourself once to make you realize just how much you need all of your fingers. This year I am especially grateful that the feeling has returned to 100% of my left hand. This makes writing 110% easier to do.

5) The Writing Community 

I’ve had the pleasure of being introduced to several writing communities in my time; Hatrack, Forward Motion, WriteOn, Author’s Den … the list goes on. But in truth, the writing community I have right now has grown on its own. I’ve found people through those sites, certainly, but not all of them have stuck.

I’m talking to the people who have stuck — I love you all. Thank you for your support, your own creativity, and for just being you. I couldn’t do this without you.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone. Be safe and have fun.

Leave a Reply

